My Jaw Resection Journey

Chemo Round 7…

Posted on: September 24, 2012

August 2nd I started round 7 of chemo.  It was my last session with both Adriamycin and Cisplatin.  The Cisplatin drops off after this one and it’s just the Adriamycin.  During my first round of this drug I threw up the entire time, but I had gotten this nausea patch and it had helped a lot the past few treatments.  Not this time!  The day started out with me crying on my walk to the oncology floor because I didn’t want to do chemo anymore.  I was cancer free, I didn’t understand why I had to continue.  I made it to my room and had Mom and Dad both trying to soothe me, but still managed to throw up my breakfast.  Anytime I cry I throw up.  It’s terrible.  I was feeling better and Dad went to get Rocco’s Little Italy for lunch and the afternoon went well until I started getting nauseous.  I threw up all night, I highly doubt I’ll be eating there again any time soon.  That’s another bad thing about chemo, it ruins all your favorite foods from throwing up so much.  The next 2 days were pretty average.

sleeping in moms bed at the hospital during chemo

After I get home from chemo, I basically lay around with the dogs all day because I’m too exhausted to do anything else.  It turns out my blood counts were low and that was making me unusually extra tired, so I got a pint of blood and platelets and then headed to Hilton Head to visit my Uncle Gordon.

lounging with Rylee

me in Hilton Head- with my new wig!

Leave a comment